Sarbananda Sonowal takes oath as first BJP CM of Assam, PM Modi attends ceremony

first_imgSarbananda Sonowal took oath as Assam chief minister along with his 10 Cabinet ministers today. Sonowal, who took oath in Assamese, will be leading BJP’s first government in the northeast.Himanta Biswa Sarma, who changed his loyalty from Congress to BJP months before the Assembly elections, was also sworn-in as minister.   The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Cabinet colleagues like Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari. Veteran BJP leader LK Advani, party president Amit Shah, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu and Punjab’s deputy CM  Sukhbir Singh Badal also attended the ceremony in Guwahati. Outgoing Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, who ruled the state for 15 years, was also present.BJP and its alliance partners had won 86 seats in the 126-member Assembly. The elections were held in two phases on April 4 and 11 and results declared on May 19.Here are the highlights:India’s development has to be all-round and inclusive. Eastern part of the country cannot remain away from the development journey: PM ModiI am sure Sarbananda Sonowal will leave no stones unturned for Assam’s progress: PM ModiThe government in Delhi believes in cooperative federalism: PM ModiMy government wants to give the states maximum strength and enable them to progress: PM ModiSarbananda Sonowal is known for his simplicity: PM ModiI bow to the people of Assam who picked Sarbananda Sonowal as their leader: PM ModiWe respect the mandate that people of Assam have given to the BJP. This government will transform Assam in the next 5 years: ShahI thank the people of Assam for showing faith in Sarbananda Sonowal: Amit ShahOver a lakh people present for the swearing-in ceremonyHimanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as minister.Guwahati: Himanta Biswa Sarma greets PM Modi and CM Sarbananda Sonowal after taking oath as minister in Assam Govt ANI (@ANI_news) May 24, 2016Sarbananda Sonowal takes oath as Assam chief minister. Sonowal takes oath in Assamese. LIST OF MINISTERS WHO TOOK OATH:Himanta Biswa Sarma – BJPAtul Bora –  AGPPramila Rani Brahma – BPFParimal Shukla Baidya –  BJPChandramohan Patwari –  BJPKeshab Mohanta – AGPRanjit Dutta –  BJPRehan Doimari – BPF Naba Kumar Doley – BJPPallab Lochan Das – BJPAlso Read:Sarbananda Sonowal: 10 things you didn’t know about the new Assam CM Assam Assembly election: 5 reasons why BJP won and Congress lost its bastionlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *